Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Mercy of the Lens
So when I initially put this outfit together, I thought the overall layered effect with be more uh, slimming ... but I guess somehow the mirror told me that I looked fine (?) and then the camera apparently disagreed with it.
Speaking of cameras, I upgraded last year from my point-and-shoot camera to a Panasonic DMC-FZ150. For a gal who has always used Canon products, it was actually a pretty easy transition to the Panasonic - the FZ150 had some nifty features like a flip-back screen and was remote clicker-compatible, both very nice conveniences for a gal who takes her own pics. Plus the zoom on this fixed-lens camera is wicked good, seriously (I've taken it to air shows and had no problems zooming in on aircraft doing demos overhead or taxiing all the way across the airfield).
However, it's not the best portrait camera. Granted I don't have any sites set on Best Fashion Blogger of the Year or anything, but I do wish I could get some of the color richness and depth from a better camera. And yes, I do now regret that when I was looking last year, I nixed the idea of a DSLR because it seemed complicated (though I am totally that person who will buy something electronic and never ever read the manual. Ever. Eyes crossing even now at the thought) and wanted to save some dollars.
I haven't made my mind up yet if I wanted to make the investment yet, but I am currently considering a Canon T3i with a 50mm lens. Seems like it would not only give me better options for my outfit pics, but it'll let me take richer pictures overall. Though it does make me ask - for a lackluster photog like myself, would a better camera automatically equal better pics?
I'd love to hear some advice from you ladies. Do any of you currently use a T3, and if so, what do you think? Or what kind of camera and lens do you currently use for your blog pics and are you happy with it?
Blazer: Cartonnier via Anthropologie brief meeting (reviewed here - sim, striped, deal, luxe)
Top: Limited button detailed (worn here - sim, sim, pricey)
Jeans: J.Crew hipslung (worn here - sim, sim)
Necklace: C.Wonder square stone (worn here - sim, sim, cute bows)
Bracelets: J.Crew wildflower (sim), C.Wonder pave initial, Sage K and Co via Etsy (sim)
Bag: Pour La Victoire roma (worn here - sim, sim, pricey)
Shoes: Michael Kors hamilton (worn here - sim, sim, peep, luxe)
Labels:
Anthropologie,
C.Wonder,
J. Crew,
Kors,
Limited,
OOTD,
Pour La Victoire,
Stella Dot
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Popular Posts
-
Ann Taylor - Calla Sequin Peep Toe a pair of sparkly heels. No? I do believe I need a little more sparkle in my life. I think I'll star...
-
I feel like all I've been doing is apologizing for my absence from blogdom - it's been a busy few weeks! I just got back from Vienna...
-
Hey ladies, I seriously am appreciative having all you ladies reading my blog and checking out my pics, posts, ramblings. I love this commun...
-
Lorna - Sam Edelman Lorna is Lorissa's flirtier, girlier cousin. A spiked bow built to give you an edge. Open d'Orsay styling to ...
-
Hey, ladies! I'm back from my biz trip and was lucky enough to visit one of my fave cities on earth - London. I've got two more trip...
-
Badgley Mischka - Dusk I'm not sure why but the instant I saw these on (More on that later) I immediately thought of Barbie. Don't t...
-
Remember those butt-kicking glittery jelly sandals that were the rage when we were in elementary school? They made funny little squishy ...
-
Time to round out another few weeks of outfits and pairings with quick pics taken with my camera phone. One of these days I'll get to ma...
-
Michael Antonio - Tibor Despite the fact that this shoe seems to be having an identity crisis, I kinda like it. Once you see it on I think ...
-
I can’t believe we’re more than halfway through April already, time just seems to be flying by. I feel like this year I am ill-prepared fo...
0 comments:
Post a Comment